Is the book G rated or PG rated?


hmmm. I ask myself this question. There is no explicit language – it’s the time period. No erotic love scenes, but there is love. But, there are killings, one intentional. My character is fighting in a war of course she killed, it’s survival. She does kill her husband – but he deserved it. Even my god fearing Christian friends ask me if I’ve killed the jerk off yet. So I have to ask myself when the time comes to submit my work to an agent – would a christian agent be right? Researching the right agent is very important.

My book is a saga with multiple books that follow.

I have a friend who writes very G rated. She does not even use cuss words in every day life. She submitted a query letter to a christian publisher and they responded back – ‘Sorry we do not publish mob books’ – her G rated book is a murder mystery based in Las Vegas – (see that whole stigma perception aspect.) Just because a murder mystery is based in Las Vegas doesn’t make it mob related. I got a big kick out of that. It is really how she wrote the query – she did not make her story very clear. Homework is important.

About teresalwatts

Fascinated with Women in US History, Lover of Photography, Fashion, Shoes, Chocolate, Drinks Way too much coffee, Mother, Grandmom (to the four legged kind).
This entry was posted in Masque of the Revolution. Bookmark the permalink.